current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

#162 - who am I?
September 6, 2001 @ 4:53 pm

Do you ever feel afraid of who you are? That maybe you don't want to know the real you? We all have our internal conflicts, biases, hypocrises.

But on a more basic level, what if you find out something's wrong with you? If you're faced with the fact that you'll never be like other people?

I don't feel depressed, but I still feel... fragile. This is frightening enough, to see this in the back of your mind, the fact that part of you is still hiding, afraid of the world.

But what about when you're lucid enough to be afraid of yourself and never being the person you once were again?

I'm afraid of who I am, who I'm becoming. That I once stood out from the crowd, proud that I was different, and proud that I was better. Proud of my successes, my grades, my nature, my humanity.

I see my life squandered here, and wonder what the hell went wrong.

And I see myself failing even here, where I once succeeded, and wonder how much farther down the spiral this can go?

I used to work so hard at this job. My bosses adore me because of my competence. But now I can't even work full time without losing my mind. And when I am here, I'm dying to be home, to be surfing the net, reading, anything but working. When I fight this urge, I often find I've been staring into space for minutes at a time, doing nothing as I fight the instinct to flee this place.

Is it the job? Two years ago, I thought it was. Then I went into therapy, and it seemed it was me.

But this job does not normally cause me injury. It's generally just boring and tedious. So what's wrong with me? Why do I get flighty? Afraid? Nervous? Are these panic attacks? Am I fighting with panic attacks now too?

I've always been curious to know who I am, who I was, who I will be. But today? Today, for the first time in a long time, I'm just plain afraid. Afraid of the answers if I question, who am I?


It's kind of amusing (not) that all I want to do is go home and write all day, but if I'm home all day I'll spend maybe an hour or two writing, and then it just dries up. I need to go out in order for something to occur to me to write. And then I'm tied down at the office unable to express myself while I'm there. Argh!

Can we please blow up all large conglomeration companies whose departments don't talk to each other? "Oh, I can't help you with that, you need to talk to the tax department." "Oh, I'm the tax department, but you need to talk to booking about why the account is in tax status." Get hung up on during phone transfer. Call back. "Oh, we know you paid that off 3 years ago, but the account wasn't closed, so you owe us tax. Let me talk to my supervisor... OK, I can close your account now, but you need to talk to the tax department to get them to remove the tax once I fix your account." Get tax department's voice mail. Go insane and beat the bloody phone into miniscule pieces and/or run screaming from the room.

Mama...


ah, youth! to be back in high school again... *sigh* Just talked to our summer intern, and he's so happy to be back in school. Imagine that, being *happy* with your high school classes! High school was definitely better than any of the other grades, I'll tell ya that!

last - next