current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

#121 - The Insider
2001-08-08 @ 1:11 p.m.

#2

so we did not write our toast last night. i was fucking around with the new layout & gaining my addiction to fatgrrlslim, then Sweetie came home late & all we could think about was finally getting some food in us & just laying like broccoli on the couch. we shall write our toast tonight - Sweetie is coming home special just for that.

so, last night we vegged & watched "The Insider", hence my desire to write an entry about Russell Crowe. I believe I've mentioned him in here before as highly fuckable. While I did not care for him in "LA Confidential", my heart did flip-flops watching him fall for Salma Hayek in "Breaking Up". I remember thinking at the time, is this truly the same person? He didn't seem as buff, and he was a little sweetheart. And then the entire world did a double-take when the commercials for "The Insider" came out. "THAT's Russell Crowe?" the entire world asked in consternation. Including me. The movie sounded boring, so we never saw it.

Until last night. Wow. It was a *really* good film. Mind you, I was a tad bit annoyed with some of the camera shots they kept insisting on shoving down your throat, looking for as many way to make the scene angular, and the characters far away. And the sound quality seemed to be worth *shit*. There was one shouting scene where it sounded like Russell & Al Pacino were shouting into a toilet, instead of outside and at each other. And the soundtrack made every scene seem like life & death was on the brink.

But, the cinematography was effective by the time I got used to it. I kept gettting nervous every time the camera would stay focused on the things around Russell Crowe during a close-up. When I realized that that was a pretty cool effect. It added to his character's paranoia, so you could experience it for yourself. Cool.

And the story was very good. I wasn't bored at all, in fact at the end of 2hr40min, I was amazed at how entertained & drawn in I had been by this film.

Characters: I *really* don't like Al Pacino. And whatever his name is that played Mike Wallace, he's always struck me as annoying. And the damn Pepsi girl was in it! But *everyone* did an amazing job! Al Pacino was great, so was Mike Wallace's character. I seem to remember hearing that Mike Wallace was pretty pissed about his portrayal in this film. And Pepsi girl only had like 2 lines in the film, so all the other shots you could just focus on how adorable she is when she's not pretending to be Aretha Franklin.

But man, Russell *owned* this movie. It was disconcerting that they seemed to make this movie focus on Al's character more, being as the opening & closing scenes are both his. That's just too bad. Russell did an amazing job of being depressed, loving his family, being paranoid, enjoying his new job, & getting angry way too easily. Hmm, I hope that Russell isn't getting type-cast or anything. I think "Breaking Up" is the only movie he's done without a scene of him getting violent. And I only watched it once about 4 years ago, so it could have one & I forgot it??

Anyway, the trippiest part about this movie, was finally seeing it & recognizing the weight that RC had put on, the gray hair, the glasses, and STILL seeing what a fine speciman of a man he is!! In fact, when he first meets Al Pacino & then walk down the hotel hallway away from him, he pretty much looks EXACTLY the same as he did walking away from Meg Ryan in "Proof of Life". In that scene that inspired many fantasies of me sliding my wet cunt all over his arms & back. Overweight or not, this guy will always have the frame of someone who exudes power, masculinity, & highly charged sexuality. He is sooooo HOT!!

last - next