current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

not a haole diaryring
August 31, 2001 @ 3:48 pm

See this white skin? These freckles? These green eyes?

I am not a haole! I was born and bred in Hawaii. Native blood runs through these veins: my grandmother was 3/4 Hawaiian.

I did not choose my parents, but they chose to have me. And move me around, never deciding where they wanted to live. So while it's my choice to call a mainland town my home, it was my parents' neurotic indecision that brought me to this place.

I have communed with Pel�. I have swam with the turtles. I have picked coffee and raised cattle on the slopes of Hualalai. I miss the food. I miss the sunsets. I miss the ocean, lapping not-so-subtley at the shores. My soul will always remain in that ancient place.

Are you a haole? I think this article describes it best. Join the ring if you like.

last - next