current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

#307: 2 Friday Fives, coz I'm bored
10/20/02 @ 12:03 am

Friday Five for October 18, 2002

1. How many TVs do you have in your home?
Two, but we only use 1. The second is a 13" color circa 1985.

2. On average, how much TV do you watch in a week?
I'm embarrassed to answer this question, so I will say too much. I am addicted to way too many shows. My husband and I plan our weeks around watching or recording shows. Eek.

3. Do you feel that television is bad for young children?
No. I think it can be good for them. I don't think it should be free day-care for them either though. I think there should be a balance. I don't know what we're gonna do when we start having kids! I don't really think kids should be watching the shows we watch!

4. What TV shows do you absolutely HAVE to watch, and if you miss them, you're heartbroken?
Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Angel, The West Wing. The others I can usually go without crying if I miss.

5. If you had the power to create your own television network, what would your line-up look like?
Oh! Period dramas! High quality SciFi programs! Maybe like an hour or 2 a night of comedies, followed by an hour or two of high-quality drama. Law & Order is really brilliant, as is the West Wing. I wouldn't spare any expense to make it good, or to market my programs correctly. So many good shows die because networks don't stick with them!!! How ridiculous!


And because I keep getting the sucky Friday Fives when I bother to check in, I'm doing an old one from 9/27/02.

1. What are your favorite ways to relax and unwind?
Listen to classical music, lay down and read a book, poke around the internet, hugging my husband.

2. What do you do the moment you get home from work/school/errands?
Hook up to the internet. I should spend more time doing something more therapeutic, like sensory deprivation or a good read!

3. What are your favorite aromatherapeutic smells?
I don't know about "aromatherapy", but I love the scent of vanilla and pumpkin pie. I just found my candles the other day and lit some pumpkin pie & vanilla cookie candles. Plus, I have this really cool (and expensive) candle that I would light every time I sat down to write my novel two years ago. It's called "Tibetan Cypress" by Pacifica, and smells like cedar. It does mention having "spices and cedarwood" in it.

4. Do you feel more relaxed with a group of friends or hanging out by yourself?
By myself. I actually like being by myself alot. I like being with friends, but it's much more relaxing to just be by yourself and be half-naked and pig out and not care what your hair looks like.

5. What is something that you feel is relaxing but most people don't?
Swimming. I have an affinity for the ocean and water, and I feel so peaceful when I'm underwater. Every time I go to the pool (damn, it's been ages), when I'm done doing laps, I have to spend a few minutes being a kid, diving underneath just to look up at what the water's edge looks like from down there; listening to the world that only dolphins and fishies normally get to hear; fighting my body's need to resurface; blowing bubbles. It sucks to be close to the water and be unable to swim in it. Have you ever seen the Puget Sound? It's a big spill of black ink and freezing. No thanks, I'll take a pool any day. OK, I love the ocean, but I'm scared to death of the things living in it. Don't tell anyone.

last - next