current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

#261 - Today's word of the day has been "Ow"
03/13/02 @ 10:34 pm

Ow. Today's word of the day has been "Ow". Headache. Bad. Raw nose from sniffles. Workout yesterday. Muscles Angry. Tatoo pissed at me. Body. Much. Sore.

Ow.

So, did everyone catch the reason why I'm updating mid-week? Yep, I gots meself inked, as my Sister likes to say. Nope, don't blame her, that wee tattooed lass had nuthin' to do with it.

I promise to speak (write) proper English now. Sorry.

Anyway, I've been kicking around this idea for years. I hate pain. I fear pain. But somehow last week I got it into my head that I could endure a "test" tattoo. Something small, to see how it went. Once I decided on something I could live with, I announced it to hubby & Sis over dinner last Friday. My husband surprised me by agreeing to go with and hold my hand. He's afraid of needles. More so than even I am.

We ended up at Slave to the Needle in Ballard, because they have such an excellent reputation in Seattle. We checked stuff out. I told the chick behind the counter my idea for a quarter-sized star, starting with the outline, to be filled-in only if I could stand it. She tried to schedule me in that night, but it didn't work out. My sister really didn't like her, I just thought she seemed out of place, like she didn't normally work there, and didn't know what she was supposed to be doing.

So the next day the three of us trekked back to Ballard to start over. Completely different chick behind the counter. She was as sweet as can be, and pretty and classy too. She totally reminded me of how girltrouble describes herself, which made me all happy and comfy. She knew what she was doing, expected me and everything. In fact, the tattoo artist was right there to greet me. A nice, but kinda quiet, guy from Florida thinking of moving up here.

So I had a little conversation with my artist. The night before, right before we left, I decided that if I was going to have to pay alot no matter the size or complexity, within reason, I would get something I liked better than a star. And more colors. It was a butterfly, closer to the size of a half dollar than a quarter. Maybe even a little bigger than a half dollar. The image we used allowed for lots of different colors to be blended in, but I settled on a black outline (quite thick, like a monarch butterfly, but very cartoonish), with lavendar body, and white wings fading out to lavendar. It was supposed to be more lavendar than white, but turned out the opposite.

It still looks amazing though. And it was completely tolerable. Mostly. I got through the outline alright, and figured I'd better get the fill done, since everyone was assuring me that the outline was the hard part. It's kind of odd, because my sister says that after the first 10 minutes, you kind of go numb. Mine only took about 15, and that kinda didn't happen. It hurt. Alot. But it was doable. Except in parts. Then it hurt like a son-of-a-bitch, and I thought I was going to erupt from my seat and smack the artist. This tended to happen as he drew lines, and carried them too far without a pause. He always quit right at the moment I thought I would scream. But I never fidgeted or cried or made a peep. Go me!

Anyway, now that it's over, I think maybe there was a reason why the long lines hurt more, because he was going deeper at the end? There's one corner of the right wing that HURTS when I touch it, and sometimes when I move. And the area around it is still quite red. The rest is healing beautifully. I asked myself today how do you know if you're infected, if the area is black? I will give it a few more days before freaking out. And I hope to have a picture for you guys this weekend. It's really pretty. Everyone says so!

But now I'm obsessed! Obsessed with what will come next. I know what has to come next, the tattoo that this was a test for. An eeyore on my ankle. Sis says to expect hell, since boney areas are the worst. Damn. And it will be bigger. Double damn. But if it was like this one, I think I should be ok.

But I have a problem. I'm planning on getting like 4 tattoos now, hopefully not more, but it's completely possible. I never should have started! I don't think I'm like my sister, addicted to the idea (and quite possibly the pain). No, I like pretty ladies. I collect them. Postcards. Stickers. Magic The Gathering cards. Comic Books. And they just sit there, in various drawers and boxes and piles of crap. But here's a way for me to have and admire them every day! God, what have I done?!

See, after eeyore, I'm thinking of a hibiscus, to represent Hawaii. Then a faerie. Definitely a faerie. I really like this one that I have a sticker of from Hot Topic:

Of course, I would change her hair to lavendar. And none of the background or the oval, just her kinda floating on my skin! Similarly, I really dig mermaids, and am obsessed with flowing white hair, so maybe this too:

But then there's Bettie Page. GAWD, I luv Bettie Page!!! Some awesome images can be found at eOlivia.com, but I actually found these exact images elsewhere. Don't ask me how I'm supposed to choose between them! Maybe one on each cheek???

And devilgirls had me out searching the internet for more. Like the devil wheel girl. I want, want, WANT both of these images! I found them at Coopstuff.com What do you think? Too racey for the kidlets to catch on me once I start poppin' out babies?

Well, there's always Bondage Faeries. I could get plenty of half-naked faeries NOT doing anything sexual that way.

But I love those erotic devil chicks, dammit!!! And did you catch that the chick on the chair with the she-devil is a NUN?! That is sooo me!!! hehe

Anyway, do I actually have anything to say besides obsess over future tattoos? Do you put an "e" before the "s" when you pluralize tattoo? Inquiring minds wanna know.

I am listening to some fantastic music lately. Bought the soundtrack to "Velvet Goldmine", and listen to "20th Century Boy" over, & over, & over. Everytime, I remember the movie even more fondly. Huh.

Also got the soundtracks to both the American and English versions of "Queer As Folk". Have I mentioned that? Well, the themesong to British QAF is really awesome. So there. "...really mad!"

Downloaded Elastica's "Connection", coz I don't own any of their albums and I love that song. Spent an afternoon finding out who did that "I wanna take you higher" song and a good chunk of tonight trying to get it off of Limewire. Does no one use it anymore? Having lots of trouble finding shit anymore. Oh, it's actually called "Elevate My Mind" by the Stereo MC's. That song has always made me want to FUCK. I have to go hit repeat again. Just as soon as MC 900 Ft. Jesus' "While the City Sleeps" finishes. Yah.

Hmm. There's absolutely NO content to this entry. Bah! I had some shit to talk about this afternoon, but after spending all evening trying to figure out WHAT THE FUCK is going on with my internet and network connections, then finally have online time to track down all those images, it's now 10:25! Yikes! And I've been so tired lately. I find myself sitting at work wishing to god or whoever that I could just go home. Any reason. I don't care.

It makes me realize that my greatest desire is to just sit around with no responsibilities and surf the net or go out or watch movies or tv or WHATEVER, 24/7. Does this make me lazy? Bored with my life? Frustrated at my job? I don't know. Does anyone else feel this way? This is why I take vacations. To give myself the illusion that there are no rules to follow, no responsibilities to live up to. Las Vegas went a long way there, but now that I'm trying to diet and work out again (after 4 months without!!!!!!!), I'm suddenly feeling very confined again. *sigh* Is there NO END to my issues??? Grr.

Anyway, I was going to talk about the fact that I'm seriously worried that I have an overeating disorder. I have this mental thing that makes me very discontent if I don't do what I want, when I want it. Bad. But I don't feel like dealing with that right now. So I will sign off, leaving you (and me, hopefully) with dreams of pretty ladies. Love!!!

I wish there was a way to tattoo Tori Amos' voice onto my body. I would be willing to go full-body for something that miraculous. Something to ponder...

Oh! And if there was any doubt just how narcissistic I am, I always have to play the hero in my fantasies. Always:

click to take it!
You sometimes doubt yourself - who you are and what you can do. You're a curious person, with questions and concerns about the world.� You go along with the crowd and aim to please others to your best ability.� But when you finally discover what you're really capable of, you can do some serious ass kickin'!� You're fast and furious, and you will always stick up for what you believe, and those who you care for.� Not only that, but you're charming and charismatic, so you get along with people well, and others often look up to you.

last - next