current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

#224 - take the good with the bad
11/7/01 @ 1:56 pm

I meant to write an entry yesterday, but never got a chance. Because I came home last night and we went grocery shopping, then I tried to sort out eBay, then it was time for Buffy, then it was time for Smallville, then it was more eBay and bed. I am getting frustrated with eBay. I am currently dealing with 2 people for whom English is their 2nd language, and it's not fun. I was extremely confused and frustrated last night, trying to pay for their auctions. I finally paid for one, and simply had to email the other AGAIN to enter the fucking TOTAL that includes shipping so I can PAY him. I mean, if he just wants me to NOT pay for shipping, by all means, but STOP TELLING ME TO PAY FOR SHIPPING, then not adding it to the total on the payment form!!! Grr

So, yah, what was I saying? Stupid work wanting me to actually *work*. Grr.

First thing yesterday morning, Sweetie heads out the door for work, and immediately comes back. Holding his passenger-side mirror. A cop left a note on his car saying the guy who did it was on jail & to call him. Turns out the guy worked nights, so Sweetie had to wait all day to find out the scoop. Some drunk bastard went down the street KICKING off the mirrors on everyone's cars. Luckily, mine was parked across the street. Sweetie is not pleased, because he got the estimate on the repair, and it's $500+. His deductable is $250. The cop told him that he can contact the court and ask for restitution to cover his deductable though. Sweetie isn't that impressed. He was rather grumpy all day. This is the 3rd incident with his car in the last 3 months.

Which made my good news harder to give. I was grumpy yesterday myself. Especially when our manager took galpal to lunch and not me. I've been so busy & stressed, I only last week sent off an email about it. And I realized that all I did was try and solve the problem myself, by giving them things to take away from me, instead of letting them know I'm not happy and I'd like to find another way to do this, especially keeping accounting and giving rid of receiving in the mornings. I think I have more energy in the morning, which I need to do accounting, not to do receiving!

But after I took lunch, Boss Lady & I met up and she had a plan. I am going to start training on Purchasing, so I can do that in the afternoons & do accounting in the mornings like I want. And galpal will take over receiving. So we'll basically be swapping our new duties. We both seem pretty pleased with the new setup. Galpal talked to me about it, asking if I had any concerns, since this will take some training and lots of getting used to. I told her basically I'm freaked out about our horrible part numbering system, and just learning a completely new, complicated set of things to do. She said I didn't have to know part numbers, sales does that for me. And she said purchasing isn't that difficult, and when stuff comes up, she knows exactly what to do coz she's been doing it for years. So, yah, this might work out!

I told manager that this sounds great, but I'm not completely sure that just switching my routine around will be enough. I think it will be. I'm hoping it will be. But I told her I wanted to be completely honest, and I may just have to go back to part time after all. She seemed ok with this, since they were preparing to look for a purchasing & receiving person if they couldn't work this out between me & galpal.

So, hopefully training will start this afternoon. Except that would be annoying, since I had to do receiving because she was out at a meeting this morning. But I got to see the new iPods! They are SWEET!!

Finally, I had another amazingly detailed dream last night:

It started out about a woman kinda lost in the woods with strange beastly-men. I think she might have been me. But then the woman was found by the Law & Order: SVU, and it turned into an episode with me. And one of my co-workers. A co-worker I've never dreamed about, but I've been thinking about lately because he's ever more quiet and shy than normal, after breaking up with his girlfriend.

The 2 of us were both on the SVU squad investigating this woman. She was found unconscious with evidence of trauma and rape. So everyone was on this one case.

And they accidentally find something that could be linked to my shy co-worker. Some loose change that was found at the scene. So they start looking into this, kind of in disbelief, and they go over to his house to look for clues.

And while they're searching his place, another cop comes up and says that they just recovered something new from the crime scene. A hand-written confession, signed by someone with a weird name. And that's when they pulled one of those totally contrived shots to reveal evidence to the audience: the chick on SVU, who's name I can't remember, walks over to the door of the bedroom, and opens it to reveal the name of my co-worker written on the door. And the name is a variation of the name signed to the confession.

Dun-da-dun-dun!!!

So then I start having weird flashbacks of my shy co-worker's life. And how when he was a boy, he would sneak through the cornfields (Smallville imagery there) to visit the prison where his grandfather was locked up. And his grandfather would converse with him through the barred window, and masturbate. And this messed up shy co-worker.

So when SVU chickie & her partner corner him, I know that he's going to confess his past about his grandfather, so I quietly leave the room. But I knew he didn't do it.

And then everything is quickly revealed as the chick actually wakes up in the hospital. She was lost in the woods, and she'd fallen down and gotten really scraped up at one point trying to find her way. Then shy-coworker found her, because he likes to tromp through the woods because he learned to be so good at it while tromping through the cornfields. And he helped her trek out of the woods. And when they were at the edge of the woods with the city in view, they made love. And then he left her while she was sleeping, knowing she was safe with the city right there, but not wanting anyone to know his secret about tromping through the woods.

So she wasn't raped afterall, but shy co-worker had to reveal his evil grandfather's secret because she wasn't awake to tell everyone she was ok.

The end.

Weird, huh?

last - next