current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

#155 - i'm a good girl
August 28, 2001 @ 8:46 pm

I have come to the realization that I love Nat King Cole. He's amazing. I've listened to this Crooner internet station a couple of times now, and just heard "Mr. Cole Don't Rock & Roll" for the 2nd time. Now, he has an amazing voice to fall in love with, but this is just so funny. It's live, and he spends his time poking fun at rock & roll, and playing parts of standard big band, swing, & crooner songs with a rock & roll twist. And near the end, I learned that the song from the Moulin Rouge soundtrack, "The Enchanted Boy" I think it's called, is an old song indeed. Because Nat uses it to poke fun of Elvis, making it about that other King. The best part is the last lines, "the greatest thing, you'll ever learn, is just to rock, and be rolled in return." I'm telling you, this is funny stuff, all these years later!


anyone catch the Simpson's Sunday night? we always seem to catch them in re-run, rather than first-run. Sunday's had Homer on a kick to baby-proof first his home, then Springfield. in his quest, he said he would draw bunny faces on the electrical outlets to scare maggie. When Marge pointed out Maggie isn't afraid of bunnies, Homer cryptically said, "She will be." That was hilarious! But...

Sitting at the receptionist's area of our store, is an uninterruptable power supply. It has about 8 plugs for items, with a label over each one. So you don't have to do something silly like use your own brain power to decide which plug you should put your computer in, & which one you put your monitor in, etc. And each plug is color coded in bright primary colors. The result, me and a coworker noted, is that it looks like a kid's xylophone with the brightly colored metal pieces, and all you need is your little plastic tongs to bang on it. I'm an adult, and my fingers are drawn to poking the colored squares.

Granted, babies don't usually crawl around under computer desks, but jesus christ, what were people thinking??? You might as well coat the thing in icing! Oooh! Another Simpson's moment: zzt! ow! zzt! ow! zzt! ow! No, Bart cannot be trained to avoid pain, even if you do hotwire a cupcake to give him an electrical jolt. I love the Simpsons!


I am so amazingly bored. It's not that I have NOTHING to do, it's that what little I do have is MIND NUMBINGLY BORING!!! For instance, I now know that I don't ever want to deal with another customer support line again! Remember about a month ago I was complaining about a CS run-in I had? Now we've got a billing problem with one of our MANY isp's. I waited on hold for 20 minutes before I decided I was going to DIE if I didn't eat and I hung up. This was supposedly not the customer service line, but the billing line! And I was calling about a letter that said we were in danger of getting our service shut off!

So I got our password from my boss & logged in to do this online. And they use an amazingly similar program to what I dealt with last month. You post your question, then check back every day to see if an answer has been posted. However, I think I might like last month's better, because there was a box to put your email address in, so they emailed you when they responded. Not this ISP company! I guess because you're posing questions to an ISP, they're assuming that you're going to check your email address with them to get your answer. Now, is it just me, but if you're having trouble with your ISP, is it possible you would need to find another way to email them this info, and want to check that email for the answer?

So now, while I have the login info to check the account, I have no idea how to get into the actual email system to check if maybe they're emailing me that way. Because it's a manager's email account, a manager who happens to be on the East Coast vacationing for another week. Yee-haw! I MOTHER FUCKING HATE CUSTOMER SERVICE! Fix my goddamn bill & stop fucking with me! Jesus Christ!


it is now just after 8:30pm, and I'm feeling way mellow. I think I've got some stuff in me to talk about, but not really feeling up to it right now. I was a good girl and went to the gym. A very good girl, since although it's been nearly a month since I've been, I toughed out the whole regimen. It was hard, but I did it. Feeling like this is very important after conversations with Mom & Rosa yesterday. So I'm planning on going to the gym every weekday afternoon, and eating well every weekday. This way, I can deal with my sweetie's plan more easily, and get healthy to boot. The clincher? My mother now weighs exactly 1 pound more than me. I need to lose at least 20 pounds as soon as possible. That's not possible for me, don't worry, I'm not a nutcase. So I think my only hope is that sometime SOON she will start to plateau and start losing weight slower. I mean, she's probably lost about 50 or 60 pounds to get to this weight, so she's got to start slowing down a little, right? She's not even doing an actual exercise program, just moving around constantly at work.

Yes, it is very sad to learn that your mother is going to weigh less than you by next week if you don't get off your ass, so DON'T look at me like that!

Anyway, came home feeling very energetic, so went to the grocery store & bought some chicken to make dinner for the first time in weeks. Sweetie really liked it. :) I am a good wife. I am sooo not domestic! But I can cook when I put my mind to it. It would be nice to start cooking more often, but first I need to develop 1 habit at a time, so as not to get overwhelmed. I'm already pushing myself by vowing to gym AND eat right every week day. My mind does not take kindly to pressure. So I have to do things to not make this seem horrible. As long as I feel as energetic as I did earlier, I think I'll be fine.

Except that now it's 8:43 and I'm dead tired. *sigh* Going to digest a little more, then go ravage my husband. For some reason I never followed through on my threats to jump him a 2nd time Saturday, and then I didn't feel sexual at all Sunday. Monday? I think we were tired. Well, I'm tired now, but I think I can *just* squeeze that in. I gots me a plan!

last - next