current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

#315 - have yourself a furry little Christmas, er, New Year
12/30/02 @ 3:42 pm

This image makes me happy.

I discovered that 3 of my favorite "furry" artists are all to be found on DeviantArt.com: Anya, aka: SpacePirate, Klar, and Bara-Chan. And Anya had this pretty seasonal image up, so it's now my desktop at work. Will probably grab something from Klar or Bara-Chan tonight for home desktop.

You know what else makes me happy? This:

So guess what? Husband and I EACH received a $5000 check for Christmas from his Grandmother. Woo-yah! House hunting, here we come! The one above is my favorite at the moment. It looks a little small, but the Sq. footage listed SOUNDS appropriate.

Now if only we could go LOOK at it! I have never known anyone to be so reluctant to take our money! Day after Christmas, I found that house and emailed the Agent selling it. No response yet. Friday, I called the woman that I want to be our Agent. No response yet. ARGH! I keep reminding myself it's the week of/after Christmas, give it time. But DAMMIT, I want a fucking HOUSE!!!!!

Must. Not. Pull. Out. Own. Hair.

Grr.

So, yep, we're finally going to start looking at houses. I am so thrilled! I got some pre-approvals online over the weekend, and we can afford to buy at least $240k work of house! Holy Shit Batman! If that sounds like alot for a house, it is: Seattle is an evil house market these past few years, recession or no. Try finding a house for that price IN town, and I'll show you a fucking SHACK not fit to house a dog! OK, that's overstating it a bit, but we are pretty much ruling out the Seattle city limits, because it's so fucking expensive. We haven't seen ONE damn house in town with a For Sale sign that's under $300k. In fact, I don't think we've seen any under $350k. No Puget Sound views for us. *sigh*

Anyway, what else? Hmm... I just wanted to give you guys a QUICK update, coz who knows when I'll find time to post again. Working 25 hours this week, need to find a volunteer position be Monday, school starts next Tuesday, so things are going to be a bit busy for awhile, and then just get worse after that.

Good news is, I think I've finally muscled up the courage to call the teacher I worked with last quarter and beg her forgiveness for never getting back to her and asking if I can still volunteer with her next quarter. Bad news is, she may still say no.

Oh. Also TRES cool, is that I am now debt free, except for my 2 student loans (phooey! oh well, the interest rates are low...) and my car (which will be paid off in March anyway...). Husband agreed to let my use 1/2 of my $5k to pay off my debts. And I still had $500 left over, so I'm doing some clothes shopping this week. Still not satisfied with my options that are dressed-down enough for daycare and dressed-up enough for work.

It still feels like a dream. I can't believe I'm debt free! I have been under the evil press of Credit Card debt for almost 10 years now, and I will NEVER go there again!

Plus, on top of everything else, if all goes well, we may have $$ left over after the down payment to buy some furniture. Not alot, I'm just thinking of a computer desk for me, and something better for the living room. We very badly need a new coffee table, and I really want to get new couches and/or chairs. A china/hutch thing would be nice, to display all the china we got almost five years ago at our wedding that's been sitting in boxes in the garage ever since. But that's a fancy dream, now ain't it???

Anyway, things are good. Hope everyone had a Merry Christmas.

I got a PS2!!!!! Hubbie could only afford 1 game though, so I'm crossing my fingers I get Kingdom Hearts and/or FFX for my birthday. Do you know how hard it is to have $500 in your pocket to burn, but you can't buy yourself anything like that coz your birthday's only 2 weeks away???!!!

Oh, the horror!!!!!!

Have a Happy New Year everyone.

=^.^=

last - next