current
archive
email
guestbook
slambook
profile
linkers
cast
rings
notes
image
Design
dland
link me

strawburygrl feels
fucked

<< - >>

boring entry that does not deserve a title!
02/10/02 @ 5:17 pm

I know, I know, the floaty hearts ruin the classic effect of the Victorian Valentine, but I like the new layout, for this week anyway, so BITE ME!! hehe. I'm not sure if I'll be making a new layout next week, or just going back to the last one. We'll just have to see what kind of mood I'm in next weekend!

Well, it's a rainy, gray day in Seattle, just the way I like it. It's lovely. Came into hubby's work to use his internet connection, and we're on the 7th floor, with a nice view of the people milling around below, and the raindrops flying by. I wish it was snowing. The scene in "Out of Sight", where Jennifer Lopez & George Clooney meet up with snow falling in the background by the window looks very romantic.

Seeing the people and the rain and feeling the chill, I wish I was a poet. But despite my attempts, I'm not. I tend to get slightly lyrical or melodic in my writing after awhile, but that's it. Despite my love of words, I never seem to be able to find the right words to describe beauty beyond saying it's "beautiful". I call it Old-Age Syndrome. I have words right on the tip of my tongue just about every day, and it drives me nuts - because it can take DAYS to come to me! I have been known, once I get the word, to put it on a stickie on my monitor, so I won't forget, and try to use it as often as possible after that. Yep, I'm nuttier than a fruitcake. Loopier anyway.

So, yah, internet's still down. We told Qwest to FUCK OFF. We were down for less than 18 hours due to lack of payment, and our upstairs neighbor paid them over the phone & was told it would be 24 more hours to get us back up. And somehow, they brilliantly gave our line away during that period. And took 3 days to tell us that it would be 2 weeks before we would be getting a new one. So we called Speakeasy up. They'll take 2 weeks too, but why reward Qwest for being a bunch of dumbfucks? They've already screwed us over a bunch of times before, not to mention everyone else we know, so FUCK 'EM!!! In the meantime, I'm dabbling with AOL. shudder But despite my 56k modem, I connect anywhere from 24.4 to 28.8. Not even 36, let alone 56!!! It's horrid. At least I discovered, after 2 days of being pissy with the AOL browser's inability to deal with Java, that once I'm connected to AOL, I can use Internet Explorer to web surf. Who knew? Oh, I must say, to anyone who reads my diary with the AOL browser, certain stuff doesn't look right. Namely, for some reason when I want my entries Justified, it decides to CENTER them. Wacky. I don't center my entries, ever. If you see centered entries, start up IE, STAT!!!

Well, lessee... We went to see "Birthday Girl" yesterday. Nicole Kidman is my new obsession lately, after watching Tom Cruise break her heart, rub her nose in Penelope Crus (ick!), and then lusting after her in Moulin Rouge. Have I mentioned that Moulin Rouge is yummie? You should all see it at least once in your life. Oh, the movie. It was pretty good. We were expecting it to be a little more Quentin Tarinto gun-action oriented, but it was more character driven, not much action. The plot was engaging, as well as Ben & Nicole. It was pretty good. I thought Ben was Charlie Chaplin's grandson or somesuch, but IMDB says no. Huh.

I wish I had more to say. Life has been a little boring. Work is going ok. Actually found stuff to occupy most of my time last week, so no panic attacks, which is always nice. No word from family, and no news is good gnews!

Reading book 2 in Nancy Kress' Probability series, "Probability Sun." Christ. I didn't take Physics coz it scared the crap out of me, and I'm so glad I didn't! This shit, even the basic concepts, are flying WAY over my head. But I love them. Flowers everywhere. A language of flowers. A culture decorated in elements reminiscent of India. I love it. Every time they sit down to a meal, I think of Indian food. Which made following my diet this week VERY hard, but I did it, and was rewarded with Indian food yesterday. Yee-haw!!! mmmm, curry....

So I'm babbling, and I will end this with two words: Las Vegas BABY! Ok, that was 3 words. Only 2 weeks now!!! Yippie!!!

ps: I got accepted by Interview! They said they have serious backlog, so it will be awhile to get to my turn, but yay!!! Stay tuned for the *real* juicy stuff!

last - next